First blog post

Hello my lovely readers!

IMG_4308

My name is Megan Palumbo and I welcome you to my personal blog. I decided to start a blog because I am studying abroad in Stellenbosch, South Africa in about a month! I will be there from July to November, so this site is a way for friends and family to follow me on my journey.

I have always been nervous about starting my own blog, so please no judgements at first! Writing is a passion of mine, and I want to continue practicing my skills while I’m away.

Here’s a little background of me: 

I am 20 years old and grew up in Southington, CT. I go to college right outside of Boston, where I am studying Communication with a double concentration in Journalism & Public Relations. One day I hope to write for a newspaper or magazine (something in print). I write for my college’s newspaper and I just got promoted to Copy Editor this spring!

IMG_7750.jpg  img_7628.jpg

IMG_8380

I love animals, especially cows and my goldendoodle, Theo. I’m a sucker for long beach days, live music (I’m a concert junkie), vigorous hikes with killer views, and anything having to do with arts and crafts. I got reinvolved with pottery after taking a ceramics class this past semester which was awesome! Another passion of mine is lacrosse. I’ve been playing for about 12 years now and credit my sportsmanship, dedication to the many coaches, teammates, and fans I’ve had along the way.

IMG_6952

If anyone knows me they know that I’m always down for an adventure; I can never sit still and do nothing as a result. With that being said, studying abroad in South Africa will be perfect for endless adventures. An uncoventional destination, I know, BUT I want to experience something I would never get a chance to do later in life. Living in Africa for five months….yeah that seems appropriate!

Thank you to my readers for being interested enough to read about my trip! I hope you enjoy it, just as much as I do. More posts to come in preparation for my departure.

xoxo, Megan

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑