Everyone needs a little vacation

IMG_8554  IMG_8537

 

I am currently in the midst of my mini (six week) summer which of course called for a mini vacation! This past weekend I drove up to Maine to visit my boyfriend, James and his family for a wonderful long weekend getaway, as well as indulging in beach and pool days this week with friends from school and my hometown.

IMG_8579
My friendship with Taylor keeps getting better no matter how far we’re separated!

Mind you I’ve been working consecutive double shift days at the country club, trying to pack JUST ESSENTIALS, and drove 8 hours to NYC last week to finally apply for my student visa!! It’s been all a whirlwind and these few days away from home were much needed. But as Eminem would say: it’s back to reality.

In less than a month I will be on a plane to South Africa where I will be spending the remainder of my summer along with my fall semester. It honestly won’t hit me until I probably step on the plane come July. However, I’m learning how tough it is to prepare for such a long trip. Getting emails on emails from my advisor in Stellenbosch only makes me more excited to start this ‘once in a lifetime experience’!!

A few weeks ago I read this article called The Disease of Being Busy, thanks to my aunt for posting it on her Facebook page. All I can say is WOW! relatable much?? It seems like everyone in my life is constantly busy with work, kids, sports, especially now that summer is around the corner.

Reading this article was a kind reminder to put down my phone, be in the moment, but most importantly do things that I WANT to do. Don’t get me wrong I love staying busy at school and at home, but sometimes a I need a little time where it’s all about me. This article was also a reminder that I don’t want to be that adult; living the same routine week after week. Nothing fun comes of it. This is my life and it is what I make of it, so, why not be spontaneous and adventure when the opportunity arises?

IMG_8559
Foster the People concert in Portland this past weekend. James and I decided two hours before to buy tickets and go!

Having like-minded people around me has helped, and I know it will be easier in South Africa to find people ready to adventure as much as I want to. I want to end my post with a question and ask: what is your ideal day alone? What would you do, where would you go? Comment if you’re feeling spunky!!

xx, Megan

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

